INVITATION FOR SUBMISSION OF CONTRIBUTIONS

The conference theme is:

"Agriculture and rural areas in the course of societal change"

For this conference topic we ask for the submission of written contributions which will be presented at the conference. Poster contributions are also welcome, whereby the best poster will be awarded with prize money for the first time. In particular, contributions on the conference theme from the economic and social sciences of agriculture and related disciplines are invited.

Contributions on other themes may also be submitted if their content or methodology enhances knowledge in the areas of agricultural economics and rural sociology. Both, theoretically based and empirical studies are welcome.

Current issues are also to be discussed at the annual conference in self-organized work groups. Pre-conference activities are also a possibility. The program committee would welcome suggestions for both kinds of activity.

Call for Papers

Call for Papers

 

 

KEY DATES

  • Submission of proposals for self-organized working groups/pre-conference activities by Friday, 1 February 2019 (confirmation of acceptance by 1 March 2019)  to e-mail: gewisola2019@  thuenen.  de
  • Submission of written paper by Monday, 11 March 2019 (confirmation of acceptance by 31 May 2019)
  • Submission of poster contributions by Monday, 13 May 2019 (confirmation of acceptance by 14 June 2019)
  • Delivery of written papers revised in accordance with reviewers’ comments for publication on the conference website and AgEconSearch by Friday, 23 August 2019
  • Delivery of poster summaries revised in accordance with reviewers’ comments for publication on the conference website and AgEconSearch by Friday, 23 August 2019
  • Delivery of the completed posters (as PDF) for the poster jurors by Monday, 16 September 2019 to e-mail: gewisola2019@  thuenen.  de
  • Delivery of the final version of written papers and the summary of posters for publication in the conference proceedings by Friday, 8 November 2019

EXPLANATIONS ABOUT THE CONFERENCE THEME

Nothing is more constant than change. And every change causes new challenges. Important drivers of change shift over time and previously neglected effects of change come to the front in economic, political and societal discussions. With regard to agriculture and rural areas, the following fundamental themes for example, will emerge for the annual conference which require in-depth scientific discussion:

 

  • Opportunities and challenges of digitalization for agriculture and value chains as well as for living and working in rural areas
  • Changes in the globalized "food system": changing values and eating habits
  • Effects of changing societal demands on agriculture and land use (e.g. with regard to biodiversity, agricultural structure, distribution of land ownership)
  • Future of livestock farming against the background of changing human-animal relations and environmental policy objectives; regional economic effects of deconcentration of livestock farming
  • Demographic change and securing skilled labor supply
  • Regional disparities and equivalent living conditions

We welcome contributions from the economic and social sciences of agriculture as well as from other disciplines such as sociology, communication science, geography or political science.

INFORMATION FOR CONTRIBUTORS

Written papers and presentations

The written submissions must be completely finished, may not exceed 12 pages (including literature but excluding title page) and can be written in either German or English. The formatting requirements and templates can be found at the end of this paragraph.

 

Manuscripts are to be submitted as PDF files via the conference homepage (ConfTool) by 11 March 2019. The number of accepted presentations of submitted papers is limited to one presentation per speaker. If papers are submitted as multi-author papers, the intended speaker should be named. In the case of contributions in English, it should be stated whether the presentation is to be held in English or German. If it is to be given in German, the English title of the paper has to be given in German as well.

 

The review is carried out anonymously by two reviewers each. The following criteria are used for the evaluation: relevance of the topic, originality of the contribution, appropriateness of the methodological approach and comprehensibility of the presentation. Positively evaluated papers are presented at the annual conference in theme-based work groups and, where applicable, following the incorporation of the reviewers’ comments, published in the conference proceedings.

 

With their submission, the authors agree that their written contribution will be electronically distributed to the registered participants of the conference.

 

 

Downloads (formatting instructions and templates)

Download Template for cover sheet (paper)

Download Template for contributed paper

Download Manuscript Formatting Instructions

 

 

Self-organized work groups

Current issues in agricultural economics and social sciences are to be discussed in self-organized work groups with representatives from the areas of politics, economics and society. The timescale is 90 minutes per working group. Proposals for these working groups should explain the theme on a maximum of four pages in either German or English, and outline the format: concept, timings, papers and speakers or panelists. Proposals are to be submitted by 1 February 2019 as a PDF file per e-mail to gewisola2019@thuenen.de. The program committee and board of GEWISOLA shall decide on the selection of the submitted proposals.

 

 

Poster contributions

Suggestions for poster contributions should be on a maximum of two pages in either German or English giving the problem statement, the methods and the results of a piece of research. Submitted proposals are evaluated for their quality and the suitability of the content for the conference. Formatting templates can be found on the conference homepage. The proposals are to be submitted as a PDF file via the conference homepage (ConfTool) by 13 May 2019. Accepted posters are to be produced according to the information about posters on the conference homepage. The poster contributions will be grouped by topic and presented by their authors within a fixed timeframe in groups, run in parallel (max. 10 minutes for a short presentation and discussion per poster). Accepted and presented poster contributions will be published with a maximum two-page summary in the conference proceedings.

 

 

Downloads (formatting instructions and templates)

Download Template for cover sheet (poster)

Download Template for contributed paper

Download Manuscript Formatting Instructions

 

Please prepare your poster in size A0 in portrait format.

You can find information on good poster design on the GEWISOLA homepage: http://www.gewisola.de/auszeichnungen.html

 

 

Pre-conference activities

There is the possibility to organize pre-conference activities on the morning of 25 September 2019. These can be workshops, meetings or discussion groups on self-selected themes. Proposals with information on content, structure, speakers and participants can be submitted on a maximum of two pages in German or English by 1 February 2019 as a PDF file per e-mail to gewisola2019@thuenen.de. The program committee and board of GEWISOLA shall decide on the selection of the submitted proposals.

Call for Papers (Deutsch)                     Call for Papers (English)

EINLADUNG ZUR EINREICHUNG VON BEITRÄGEN

Das Tagungsthema lautet:

"Landwirtschaft und ländliche Räume im gesellschaftlichen Wandel"

Zu diesem Tagungsthema bitten wir um die Einreichung von schriftlichen Beiträgen, die auf der Tagung vorgetragen werden sollen. Ebenso willkommen sind Posterbeiträge zur Präsentation, wobei das beste Poster erstmals mit einem Geldpreis ausgezeichnet wird. Erwartet werden insbesondere Beiträge zum Tagungsthema aus den Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften des Landbaues und aus verwandten Disziplinen.

Beiträge zu anderen Themen können ebenfalls eingereicht werden, wenn sie inhaltlich und/oder methodisch einen Beitrag zum Stand des Wissens in den Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften des Landbaues leisten. Theoretisch orientierte und empirische Arbeiten sind gleichermaßen erwünscht.

Auf der Jahrestagung sollen darüber hinaus in selbstorganisierten Arbeitsgruppen aktuelle Fragestellungen diskutiert werden. Prä-Konferenz-Aktivitäten sind ebenfalls möglich. Für beide Formen der Aktivität bittet das Programmkomitee um Vorschläge.

TERMINE

  • Einreichung von Vorschlägen für selbstorganisierte Arbeitsgruppen, Prä-Konferenz-Aktivitäten: bis Freitag, den 01. Februar 2019 (Mitteilung über Annahme bis 01. März 2019)
  • Einreichung von schriftlichen Beiträgen: bis Montag, den 11. März 2019 (Mitteilung über Annahme bis 31. Mai 2019)
  • Einreichung von Posterbeiträgen: bis Montag, den 13. Mai 2019 (Mitteilung über Annahme bis 14. Juni 2019)
  • Abgabe der nach Gutachterhinweisen überarbeiteten schriftlichen Beiträge zur Veröffentlichung auf der Tagungswebsite und bei AgEconSearch: bis Freitag, den 23. August 2019
  • Abgabe der fertiggestellten Poster zur Veröffentlichung auf der Tagungswebsite und für die Posterjuroren (als PDF): bis Freitag, den 23. August 2019
  • Abgabe der Endfassung von schriftlichen Beiträgen und der Zusammenfassung von Postern zur Veröffentlichung im Tagungsband: bis Freitag, den 8. November 2019

ERLÄUTERUNGEN ZUM TAGUNGSTHEMA

 

Nichts ist so beständig wie der Wandel. Und mit jedem Wandel sind neue Herausforderungen verbunden. Wichtige Triebkräfte des Wandels ändern sich im Zeitverlauf, und bisher weniger beachtete Auswirkungen des Wandels treten in den wirtschaftlichen, politischen und gesellschaftlichen Diskussionen in den Vordergrund. Mit Bezug auf Landwirtschaft und ländliche Räume ergeben sich für die Jahrestagung beispielsweise folgende grundsätzliche Themen, die einer eingehenden wissenschaftlichen Diskussion bedürfen:

 

  • Chancen und Herausforderungen der Digitalisierung für Landwirtschaft und Wertschöpfungsketten sowie für Leben und Arbeiten in ländlichen Räumen
  • Veränderungen im globalisierten „Food-System“: Wertewandel und veränderte Ernährungsgewohnheiten
  • Auswirkungen sich ändernder gesellschaftlicher Ansprüche an Landwirtschaft und Landnutzung (z. B. bezgl. Biodiversität, Agrarstruktur, Verteilung des Bodeneigentums)
  • Zukunft der Nutztierhaltung vor dem Hintergrund sich ändernder Mensch-Tier-Beziehungen und umweltpolitischer Ziele; regionalökonomische Auswirkungen einer Dekonzentration der Tierhaltung
  • Demographischer Wandel und Arbeitskräftesicherung
  • Regionale Disparitäten und gleichwertige Lebensverhältnisse

Wir freuen uns sowohl über Beiträge aus den Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften des Landbaues als auch aus anderen Disziplinen, wie z.B. der Soziologie, der Kommunikationswissenschaft, der Geographie oder der Politikwissenschaft.

HINWEISE FÜR BEITRAGENDE

Schriftliche Beiträge und Vorträge

 

Die eingereichten schriftlichen Beiträge müssen vollständig ausgearbeitet sein, dürfen 12 Seiten (inkl. Literatur, exkl. Titelblatt) nicht überschreiten und können in deutscher oder englischer Sprache angefertigt werden. Die Vorgaben zur Formatierung können ebenso wie Formatvorlagen am Ende dieses Abschnitts heruntergeladen werden.

 

Die Manuskripte sind bis zum 11. März 2019 als PDF-Datei über die Tagungshomepage (ConfTool) einzureichen. Die Anzahl der angenommenen Vorträge von eingereichten Papieren ist auf einen Vortrag pro Redner/in begrenzt. Bei Einreichungen von Papieren in Mehrautor/innenschaft ist der/die vorgesehene Redner/in zu benennen. Bei englischsprachigen Beiträgen ist anzugeben, ob der Vortrag auf Englisch oder Deutsch gehalten werden soll. Soll er auf Deutsch gehalten werden, so ist der englische Titel des Beitrags auch auf Deutsch anzugeben.

 

Die Begutachtung erfolgt anonym durch jeweils zwei Gutachter/innen. Für die Evaluierung werden folgende Kriterien herangezogen: Relevanz des Themas, Originalität des Beitrags, Angemessenheit der methodischen Vorgehensweise sowie Verständlichkeit der Darstellung. Positiv evaluierte Beiträge werden in thematischen Arbeitsgruppen auf der Jahrestagung präsentiert und, gegebenenfalls nach Einarbeitung gutachterlicher Hinweise, im Tagungsband veröffentlicht.

 

Mit der Einreichung eines Beitrages erklären sich die Autoren/innen damit einverstanden, dass der schriftliche Beitrag den registrierten Konferenzteilnehmern/innen elektronisch zugänglich gemacht und auf AgEconSearch eingestellt wird.

 

 

Download Formatvorlage für Titelblatt

Download Formatvorlage für Beiträge

Download Autorenhinweise für Beitrage

 

 

Selbstorganisierte Arbeitsgruppen

 

In den selbstorganisierten Arbeitsgruppen sollen aktuelle Fragen der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften des Landbaues mit Vertreter/innen aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft diskutiert werden. Der zeitliche Rahmen beträgt 90 Minuten je Arbeitsgruppe. Die Vorschläge für solche Arbeitsgruppen sollten auf maximal 4 Seiten in deutscher oder englischer Sprache das Thema erläutern und das Format beschreiben: Konzept, zeitliche Struktur, Beiträge und Referent/innen bzw. Diskussionsteilnehmer/innen. Die Vorschläge sind bis zum 01. Februar 2019 als PDF-Datei per E-Mail an gewisola2019@  thuenen.  de einzureichen. Das Programmkomitee und der Vorstand der GEWISOLA entscheiden über die Auswahl der eingereichten Vorschläge.

 

 

 

Posterbeiträge

 

Vorschläge für Posterbeiträge sollen auf maximal 2 Seiten in deutscher oder englischer Sprache die Problemstellung, die Methode und die Ergebnisse einer Forschungsarbeit darstellen. Eingereichte Vorschläge werden hinsichtlich ihrer Qualität und inhaltlichen Eignung für die Tagung bewertet. Die Vorlagen zur Formatierung können unterhalb dieses Abschnittes heruntergeladen werden. Die Vorschläge sind bis zum 13. Mai 2019 als PDF-Datei über die Tagungshomepage (ConfTool)einzureichen. Angenommene Poster sind entsprechend den unterhalb dieses Abschnittes bereitgestellten Hinweisen für Poster anzufertigen. Die Posterbeiträge werden thematisch gruppiert und in einem festen Zeitrahmen in parallelen Gruppen von den Autor/innen vorgestellt (max. 10 Minuten für Kurzvortrag und Diskussion je Poster). Angenommene und präsentierte Posterbeiträge erscheinen mit einer maximal zweiseitigen Zusammenfassung im Tagungsband.

 

 

Download Formatvorlage für Titelblatt

Download Formatvorlagen für Poster

Download Autorenhinweise für Poster

 

Die Poster sollten in der Größe A0 im Hochformat angefertigt werden.

 

 

Prä-Konferenz-Aktivitäten

 

Es besteht die Möglichkeit, am Vormittag des 25. September 2019 Prä-Konferenz-Aktivitäten zu organisieren. Dies können Workshops, Meetings oder Diskussionsgruppen zu selbst gewählten Themenstellungen sein. Vorschläge mit Angaben zu Inhalt, Struktur, Referent/innen und Teilnehmer/innen können auf maximal 2 Seiten in deutscher oder englischer Sprache bis zum 01. Februar 2019 als PDF-Datei per E-Mail an gewisola2019@  thuenen.  de eingereicht werden. Das Programmkomitee und der Vorstand der GEWISOLA entscheiden über die Auswahl der eingereichten Vorschläge.